Changing

I often complaint that our society stubbornly holds on to diets that are deadly.  And that is true.

But sometimes we do the right thing and make changes for the better, even if slowly.

As I mentioned a few days ago, as a society we smoke far less than we used to.

And I just read that trans-fat consumption is down 75% over the past 10 years.

It seems that awareness is improving.  I wonder what our diets will look like 10 years from now.  Maybe by then we’ll have the ship headed in the right direction.

2 comments on “Changing

  1. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I hope you are right and the ship is turning in a better direction. I observe too many young people puffing away which I just don’t get. My Dad smoked most of his 87 years of life. Even at the cost of cigarettes at 50 cents a pack, I could see the financial loss involved for such a habit. Back in the 1950s, it was actually encouraged but as I said to me it was a waste of money that could buy other things such as a hunting rifle. Over the decades smoking has lost its glamor but still many of the younger generation get caught up in it.

    Eating habits have changed in some ways but it seems that we have changed from one evil to another. Maybe fat consumption is down but nutrition levels are also down. Processed food tout low sugar, low fat, low salt and should include low nutrition. I’m still not totally local and probably never will be but I do try to buy as close to the dirt or animal as I can. With the advent of becoming some what of an urban farmer, vegetables are coming more and more from a local source. I should really expand my horizon a bit more this year and find a meat source that’s local. You are indeed inspiring me to think more about what I put in my mouth and brain.

    Have a great day steering the ship.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Hey Dave, I think you’re right on the money. Just eliminating one type of fat is no solution if it’s replaced with empty calories. Processed food is a blight on society. Making it “better” helps, but ultimately the answer is to return to diets based on whole natural foods.

      I guess I’m just looking for some good news wherever I can find it. And I’m realizing that it’s not reasonable to expect changes overnight, even as we continue to advocate for them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

