A Time To Sow

The weather has been beautiful lately and I’m really getting the itch to plant.  But the ground is still soaking wet from all the rain and snow we’ve had. It will be a while before we can work it.

We have starts coming up though.  Broccoli, cabbage, lettuce and collards.

IMG_0890

We don’t have a greenhouse (it’s high on my list of things I plan to add to the farm) so we’ll still have to buy most of our spring transplants.  In the meantime we have trays of starts in window sills and doorways.  Next week I’ll start putting some out into the cold frames.

It’s a good time of year.

10 comments on “A Time To Sow

  1. shoreacres says:

    Which are these? I’m guessing broccoli, but that’s a wholly uneducated guess.

    Like

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I’m getting the itch to be outside digging in the dirt as well but here in Nebraska, the garden is still frozen solid. No outside work for at least another three to four weeks. I’m hoping to get the composter cranked up by mid March. The pile of yard waste from last fall needs to be finished off with the barrel composter. A friend donated the composter to my gardening endeavor and it will hold about 20 gallons of composting material at a time. I try to collect a big pile of yard waste in the fall and finished it off in the Spring. A couple batches of compost in the Spring is a great way to get things started.

    I’m trying a new experiment this year by growing plants in five gallon buckets. It’s not that my soil is lacking but the growing method is a self watering one that will work well with my already in place rain water collection system. My rain water collection system holds about 400 gallons of water when full. Two inches of Spring rain will fill the tank. It is shocking just how much water can be collected from one house roof. I really didn’t have to water much with city water last year.

    Have a great Spring garden day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m itching to get started too. But it’s usually mid-March before we can work the soil.
      It’s great that you’re making wise use of your water. We’ve never had to worry much about water and we tend, I think, to take it too much for granted here.

      Like

  3. Snowing here today, about 4 cm covers my back 40 right now, so planting and digging and all those spring-like activities seem a dream away, but my neighbour must thing otherwise, he sowed a whole bunch of tomato seed yesterday.

    Like

  4. El Guapo says:

    And around we go again.

    There is a certain magic in vegetables growing from such mall shoots.

    Like

  5. I always have way too many seeds sprouting in my basement mudroom this time of year because I can’t control my excitement to get things growing! So I’ll just juggle pots of things here and there until the soil warms up. maybe next year I’ll have more patience…

    Like

Leave a Reply

