Done

Yesterday was a beautiful spring-like day.  The temperature soared into the high 60s. Birds were singing.  It was a gorgeous day to be outside.

But I spent almost the whole day in the library of our local university, poring over 14 volumes of the work of John Wesley, wrapping up the final tedious task of finishing my thesis.  As I researched and wrote it I collected quotes and information from lots of Wesley source documents, both in print and online.  For consistency and ease of reference, however, I needed to source everything to one recognized collection of his works, something I should have done all along.  So while nature was celebrating gloriously, I was holed up in a little room all day.

But it’s done now.  For better or worse, I’m through with it.

I’m satisfied that I’ve been able to demonstrate that there is a discernible Wesleyan food ethic,  consonant with the contemporary food movement.  My paper argues that our ongoing cultural conversation about food would profit from the introduction of that ethic into the conversation.

Now I’ll just wait to see what my faculty advisors think about it.

And it is very likely that yesterday was the last day of my life I’ll ever spend in a library writing a paper for school.

Postscript:  Friend and fellow blogger DM asked to me answer some questions for a series of posts he’s going to do interviewing fellow bloggers.  He’s posted his interview of me, so go and check it out if you’re so inclined:  http://ialsoliveonafarm.wordpress.com/

10 comments on “Done

  1. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, yesterday here on the eastern Nebraska river front was a typical Spring day. The temperature was upper 30s and climbed into the 40s by afternoon. We started the day with an inch or two of wet sloppy snow which, because of the above freezing temperature, mostly melted by day’s end. That usually happens more in March but I’ll take it any day in February.

    I started my cabbage seeds on the heat mat yesterday and the onion seeds are now healthy looking plants of about five inches or so. Today maybe I’ll get some chives started.

    Good luck with your thesis paper and have a great done day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Our cabbage starts are up, along with lettuce and broccoli. It’s time to get more started. I’m excited about entering a new season, literally and figuratively.

      Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    Congrats! All it took was your post title for me to know the deed had been accomplished. It has to be a great relief. Now you can use libraries for pleasure and interest alone – education at its best, perhaps.

    I hope today’s just as glorious, so you can enjoy it.

    Like

  3. El Guapo says:

    Congratulations! Hope it passes review with minimal changes.

    Like

  4. Woohoo! What a relief to be finished. Looking forward to hearing what becomes of it with the advisors and then after that.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Now I’ve just got to sit back and wait. After all the time it took to write it, I think they should just drop everything and do their review. But I’m just going to have to be patient. Not my best trait.

      Like

  5. df says:

    That must feel wonderful. The waiting can be very hard, but I think letting go and recognizing the milestone of that last library session sounds like a good start. Enjoying the beginnings of spring sounds even better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

