Changing Things

I resist change.  In face, I can be pretty stubborn about it, even after being convinced intellectually that change is necessary.

When we first put in our gardens I didn’t run water lines to them.  We never irrigated the garden when I was growing up, so I saw no reason to do it now.  We’ll just rely on nature to provide the water we need, I reasoned.

A year of hauling buckets of water to the gardens proved the foolishness of that notion.

So we installed water lines, bought a lot of hose and sprinklers, and we were able to irrigate.

I was aware of drip tape irrigation, but saw no reason why we’d need that. We have no shortage of water and overhead irrigation worked just fine as far as I was concerned.

Over the past few years, however, I’ve become increasingly aware of the advantages of using drip tape.  The water is distributed more evenly.  The corners don’t get missed. Fewer weeds are irrigated.  Less problems with soil crusting and seed drift.  Better germination.  Less plant disease. The list goes on and on.

But I just didn’t want to change to a new method.  I was being stubborn.

I’m still stubborn, but this year I’m planning to start using the drip tape.  I’m finally accepting what should have been obvious to me years ago.

And I’m looking forward to seeing how it works for us.

14 comments on “Changing Things

  1. Jeff says:

    I’ve long wondered why “conservatives” don’t conserve. There’s nothing wrong with going with the tried and true and being cautious about adopting new ideas and ways of doing things. I think every society throughout history, until the advent of capitalism in the 14th century, followed the same practices. To do otherwise was to court starvation. New is not always better, despite the incessant propaganda of the marketers. Capitalism, which undermines and destroys social relations in the pursuit of profit, its sole justification for existence, is detrimentral to humanity.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Some of the best things we’re doing here are a result of me finally trying something new. But some of the best things we’re doing here are a result of me refusing to switch to something new.

      Like

  2. Drip tape is the bee’s knees, Bill. A bit of work upfront, but then you’re in. And you’ll have tons more time to reread “As I Lay Dying!” (Which novel is your favorite?)

    One bit of advice: You may be tempted to occasionally “share” one line for two rows. No. Shun this vice like store-bought groceries. Make the trip back to your shed, cut new line, walk back, pull it out…done.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m excited about having it, but a little nervous about having to learn a new way of doing things. I’ve never once read or heard anyone say they’re sorry they went to drip tape. I’ll need lots of advice, since it’s all new to me.

      My favorite Faulkner novel is Absalom, Absalom! I’ve never been a big fan of As I Lay Dying but on this reading I was greatly impressed by it. On the other hand, I recently reread The Sound and the Fury, which I’ve always greatly admired and was underwhelmed this time. It’s good to return to a good book sometimes. I don’t do that enough.

      Like

  3. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I used to be slow to change as well and still am in certain areas. Gardening is not one of the areas of slow change for me. Since I’m not in it for profit or prevention of starvation, I can experiment with new ways to grow plants. My gardening is more for the sake of growing than preserving or selling. Most of what I grow and don’t eat is given away. I have some new methods that I’m going to try this year that just may revolutionize how I garden in the future. I have many ways of gardening. The watermelons, pumpkins, squash, and corn are still grown by old traditional row crop planting. The tomatoes, cucumbers, eggplants, green peppers, green beans and cabbage are grown in raised beds. This year all the leafy greens, radishes, carrots, and beets will be grown in self watering five gallon containers as a test. I survive gardening in many different worlds.

    Have a great drip watering garden season day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s good to try new things in the garden. We try to add a new veggie or two every year, as experiments. Some of turned out great. I’m always looking for ways to improve, even if I’m hard-headed about actually trying them.

      Like

  4. El Guapo says:

    As long as you get there before it’s too late…

    I wonder – when working on a small farm, how resistant is the industry in general to changing the methods that have been used for centuries?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I think industrial farmers just dance to whatever tune the chemical companies are playing. Tradition doesn’t carry much weight.

      I’d say those of us in the sustainable ag world are resistant to some kinds of change, but some can be amazingly innovative as well.

      Like

  5. Tina Schell says:

    LOL Bill! I know nothing about drip lines or farming but am an expert on resisting change 🙂 The good news is you’re not unwilling to change, just slow 🙂

    Like

  6. bhoyt10 says:

    Please share as you do this. We have been wanting to go to drip too. But are still hose dragsters and sprinkler people with dry corners and well watered weeds!

    Like

  7. Steve says:

    Oh, so you’re human. Welcome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

