Some People

Some people see things that are and ask, Why?  Some people dream of things that never were and ask, Why not?  Some people have to go to work and don’t have time for all that.

George Carlin

14 comments on “Some People

  1. “The man was such an intellectual he was of almost no use.”

    -Lichtenberg

    Like

  2. df says:

    If it only it were not so very true (and truer by the year).

    Like

  3. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I’m afraid I was in the third category of going to work and not having time for all that most of my life. It wasn’t because I didn’t have dreams. I believe that everyone has dreams of things they want to accomplish in life. They just don’t get there some times. It’s what, in my personal opinion, causes a mid life crisis. When a person realizes that the age they are and the direction in life they are headed doesn’t leave enough time to make that dream happen, a wave of emotional loss has to be dealt with. My ultimate dream didn’t start until I was 62 and retired. Well, actually it didn’t start until 2 1/2 years ago when I bought Terra Nova Gardens. That was the ultimate dream. There were others that were accomplished through out the rest of my life time but Terra Nova Gardens is the crown jewel of my dreams. It’s a great way to finish up a life time. So my thoughts shifted at 62 to the “Why not” stage and the rest is history.

    Have a great pondering day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Great comment Dave. I think you’re right about mid-life crises. I’ve had plenty of people say that’s what happened to me, although I doubt they reflected much on why we often adjust our life path at midlife. It’s wonderful that you’re getting to live out your gardening dream. Kinda what I’m doing too. As John Lennon said, “You may say I’m a dreamer. But I’m not the only one.”

      Like

  4. Yup.
    And I think Nebraska Dave is onto something with his idea about “midlife crisis” and this quote.

    Like

  5. Nebraska Dave has just given me hope! I too am a late bloomer on the whole dream scene and from time to time I panic about my age and the path I’ve chosen.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s a great and encouraging story. I changed my path pretty dramatically a couple of years ago too. A friend of mine used to say to me, “Don’t wait too long.” But now I think it’s really never too late.

      Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    Yep. And some of us want to go to work and can’t because of the rain, cold, sleet, ice, or today’s new and quite special delight – fog. Grrrrrrrrr…….

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Winter is fast wearing out it’s welcome. We’re supposed to get hit with a major snowstorm on Wednesday. Hurry up spring.

      But of course you and I should bookmark this conversation, because in the Dog Days we’ll be looking forward to winter.

      Like

Leave a Reply

