Old

A man is only as old as his arteries.

Thomas Sydenham, 17th century English physician

2 comments on “Old

  1. Bill, I suppose that statement is true. I’m trying to do the best I can to keep my arteries healthy and help my grandson to start out life on a path to keep his healthy. With the barrage of TV advertisements and store end displays, the path is a difficult one. I have only one big downfall and that’s chips. I won’t allow them in the house except for special occasions. Once I start the bag, I’ll eat myself stuffed. That old advertising phrase, “You just can’t eat one” is certainly true for me. Sweets were never an issue and still aren’t for me. Well, except for my mother’s divinity and thank goodness she only made it once a year. She long passed so that’s not a temptation any more. So as I creep into the last season of life, I try my best to keep those arteries open and flowing.

    Have a great free flowing artery day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The men in my family have a history of arteries that don’t last long, so I’m especially aware of the truth of this old statement.

      I just read Melanie Warner’s book Pandora’s Lunchbox, in which she talks about how potato chips came to be such a pervasive part of our food culture. And both she and Michael Moss, in his book Sugar Salt Fat discuss how food scientists have specifically engineered them to cause people to overeat them. They chose that slogan “Betcha can’t eat just one” for a good reason.

      I had to quit buying them years ago for the same reason. If I was reading a book and eating chips I wouldn’t stop till the entire bag was gone.

      Like

Leave a Reply

