Getting Started

Yesterday we started broccoli, lettuce and cabbage.  Over the next few days I’ll be seeding kale and collards as well.  Soon it will be time to start the slow-growing hot weather plants.

It’s a time of year for optimism.

I see weed-free gardens, producing abundantly and with no flea beetles, aphids, or harlequin bugs.  The deer and groundhogs choose to leave them in peace.  It rains gently every few days, but only at night.  There are no late frosts and no early scorchers. Everything matures beautifully.  Nothing bolts before it’s time.  I pick in the cool of the morning, serenaded by songbirds and entertained by butterflies.

As I drop tiny seeds into their trays, I smile and think, may it be so.

10 comments on “Getting Started

  1. Hi Bill. Hope you have been well.
    Even though I have a teeny tiny garden, you have inspired me to get out and plant a few more edibles.
    Have a super day.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    I know just the name for your garden. How does “Eden” sound?

    In my own on-going efforts to transform the interior of my refrigerator, I brought home kale and cooked it last weekend. It was good. Who knew? 😉

    Like

    • El Guapo says:

      Kale is a great ingredient! Just wash it well, with a bit of lemon juice to get the worms off.

      Like

    • Bill says:

      Glad you’ve discovered the joy of kale. We love kale. It’s a versatile veggie. There’s lot of great ways to enjoy it. And there are lots of varieties of kale too.

      My gardens aren’t going to be perfect, but it doesn’t hurt to dream. 🙂

      Like

  3. El Guapo says:

    Is this the time of year you always plant, regardless of the weather?

    Like

  4. I’m afraid my appreciation for winter is waning … the sound of seeds being planted is enough to make me weep … longing for spring … 🙂

    Like

  5. Steve says:

    We shall thaw one day.
    We shall thaw one day.
    We shall feel our thumbs (again) one day, one day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

