Et tu, Peanuts?

Cherie bought a jar of dry roasted peanuts for us to have as snack food.  “Simply Nature’s Best” the label says.

IMG_0663

So what would you expect the ingredients to be?  I’d guess “peanuts, salt, cooking oil.” What the heck else should be in “Dry Roasted Peanuts”?

How about sugar, cornstarch, maltodextrin, flavor enhancers (monosodium glutamate, autolyzed yeast extract), corn syrup solids, xanthan gum, paprika and other spices, natural flavors, garlic and onion powder?  Simply Nature’s Best?

IMG_0664

Why on earth put sugar on peanuts?  And why sugar AND corn syrup?  And why corn syrup?  Can’t we even eat peanuts without being fed industrial GMO corn byproducts?  And why both corn syrup and cornstarch?  And MSG?  Really?  I’m allergic to MSG.  I wouldn’t have guessed it might be in a jar of dry roasted peanuts.  “Natural Flavors” is probably the weirdest of all the ingredients.  There’s no telling what the devil that might be.

This is the kind of nonsense we have to put up with in the world of industrial food.  Someone in a laboratory somewhere has determined that mixing up a cocktail like this will cause people to eat more of these than, say, plain salted peanuts.

Caveat Emptor.

11 comments on “Et tu, Peanuts?

  1. Bill, I have to agree. Why can’t peanuts just be peanuts. The general population have grown to used to having bold flavors that the subtle flavor of just peanuts are not tasty enough. Many times I buy just raw peanuts and eat them. I found them in the baking isle of the grocery stores. Yes, they do have a much more delicate flavor and are not crunchy in texture which is not what we are used to in a peanut. I don’t roast them but I suppose a person could if a crunch was really needed. I also buy allot of peanuts in the shell from the bulk bins. I would hope that salt or not, which is the choice, would be the only other ingredient than the peanuts. I have pretty much given up on the processed nuts because of the many flavor enhancers to improve the boldness of the flavor.

    Have a great peanut day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s good to know that you can buy them in bulk in their natural state. We don’t buy many snack foods, but wouldn’t have guessed we’d have to check the ingredients on a jar of peanuts to see it it had MSG or corn syrup.

      I’m thinking of trying to grow some peanuts. That seems the best solution of all.

      Like

  2. Geez louise! I get so angry when I see something that appears healthy and natural, only to check out the ingredient list and find something like this. So many unnecessary ingredients!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Back when I had to travel a lot I ate plenty of the “honey roasted” peanuts served on airplanes. Obviously I knew those were sweetened. Just wouldn’t have guessed all this stuff would be added to a jar of (seemingly) plain roasted peanuts. As my wife said, these days you have to check the ingredients on nearly everything.

      Like

  3. Steve says:

    Bill, how do you really feel? I didn’t quite catch your drift.Toss some additives into the rant, say a LMAO or even the infamous ROTFLMAO. A WTH never lets you down. An emoticon like :– if you’re happy.

    You might consider this one, :–P but your reader needs to be familiar with the Bronx Cheer to get it.

    I find it increasingly difficult, as the father of a teenager and two in their early 20s, to understand plain old text without the added ingredients.

    TTFN

    Like

    • Bill says:

      As rants go this one seems pretty tame. 😉

      I had to look up TTFN. That one is new to me. I don’t think I’ve ever used LMAO, ROTFLMAO or WTH. But I have found myself using SMH and the ubiquitous LOL at times. And I do use emoticons in the blogosphere (he says, head hanging in shame). (Is there an emoticon for that?)

      Like

  4. What, no aspartame? I’m a label-checking fiend when I suspect aspartame or soy might be in the mix, and I’m starting to suspect MSG as a migraine trigger as well. I would never have thought to check a jar of “Simply Nature’s Best” peanuts for those things.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Especially given how many people have adverse reactions to MSG. I just never would’ve guessed that something as basic as roasted peanuts would have all that stuff in it.

      Like

  5. This is why it takes me so long to grocery shop – I have to read all of the labels, consider the amount of packaging, try to buy as local as possible, weigh “local” against “organic” when I can’t have both, make sure I’m eating seasonally, etc… and this on top of already spending time to plan healthy and economical meals before I get to the store!
    It sure ain’t easy being green… and the “marketeers” don’t make it any easier.

    Like

  6. Sophie says:

    I like to fry some walnuts in a dry pan, then throw in some soy sauce and stir quickly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

