2013 Garden Hits and Misses

As I’ve been organizing and planning this years seed order and thinking about what new things to add this year, I thought about new veggies we tried last year and what worked and what didn’t.  Here’s a list of hits and misses I came up with.

Hits

Mizuna. Comes up quickly from seed, produces abundantly and is a cut and come again veggie.

Tokyo Bekana.  Grew very well from seed in the spring and fall. We love it raw in salads as an alternative to lettuce.

Fingerling potatoes. we grew five varieties and all did well and were DELICIOUS. Did very well at the farmers’ market.

Zephyr summer squash. These are very delicious and showed good disease resistance and yield.

Safari zuchinni.  It wasn’t a good year for zukes for us, but these kept coming even after the others bit the dust.

Red Russian kale. Produced very well. Tasty and tender.

Moon and Stars Yellow Fleshed watermelons. We really enjoyed these. Not as sweet as Crimson Sweet, of course, but crispy and delicious.

Misses
Lemon cucumbers. Produced poorly. They taste fine but are not worth the space they take up. We won’t plant them again.

Burgundy okra. The problem with this is that the wildlife couldn’t resist it. Deer and groundhogs destroyed it, while hardly bothering the Clemson Spineless. If you can keep the critters away, this would be a good choice. But we won’t bother with it again.

Creasy Greens (upland cress). This didn’t come up at all. Surprising since it grows wild here. We won’t bother trying again.

Some new items we’re planning to try this year:  Lingusia tomatoes, Sugar Ann snap peas, Maruba Santoh, Komatsuna, Tendergreen broccoli, Arcadia broccoli, Faroa cabbage, General Lee cucumbers, kohlrabi, and Costado Romanesco zucchini.

10 comments on “2013 Garden Hits and Misses

  1. ah, creasy greens in the wild – legendary in my youth (1950’s) outside Saxapahaw (Rural Route 1, Graham)

    Like

  2. Bill, I’m not too experimental when it comes to gardening. I find something that works for me and I stick with it. Maybe when my garden gets set up more I’ll be a little braver. Right now I just grow the tried and true basics of tomato, eggplant, cucumber, green pepper, corn, squash, pumpkins, potatoes and greens.

    But again that’s pretty much how I live life. Simple and easy is good for me. Have a great garden planning day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Hey Dave. We grow all those things too, in quantity. But I like to save a little room in the gardens every year to experiment with some new things. We’ve discovered some great food that way.

      Like

  3. My favorite raw veggie is fresh kohlrabi … yummy. but, alas, the Bunny family destroyed it as the green shoots came up and I didn’t have the heart to replant. I will find another way this year with some screening.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      If we get it done, kohlrabi will new for us this year. I’ve never even had it. It’s just not part of our traditional food culture here. But I’ve heard and read great things about it and I’m anxious to give it a try!

      Like

  4. We have some red russian kale seeds to plant and I’m excited to give them a try, especially after hearing they did well for you. I was thinking about trying lemon cucumbers this year as well. It’s too bad they didn’t do well for you. I may give them a shot to see how I like them. Usually if something doesn’t do well for me the first year I give up and move on though!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It was a bad year for cukes here. I’m going to plant our old standard Straight 8 and also try some General Lee. We grew Soyo Long last year and they did well and we liked them. But this year I think we’ll just stick with the more conventional cukes.
      Red Russian kale did great and is wonderfully delicious. Our customers loved it too. It’s a keeper for us.

      Like

  5. df says:

    I think it’s so important to be clear about what you want in your garden and where you shouldn’t waste your time again, though at the same time I’m a bit of a dreamer and always end up trying (and failing at) more than I should each year. I do think we’re getting a tighter ‘must plant’ list overall, but the experimenting is always fun (and of course disappointing at times too). Loved reading your list. Wish I could grow watermelon, it never works for me!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Watermelons are part of summer here. I enjoy growing them, but it takes a lot of long hot days.
      I think it’s good to experiment a little in the garden. I’m not as adventurous as some (and I always make sure we have enough of the tried and true favorites to meet our needs), but I also try new things each year too. That’s part of the fun!

      Like

Leave a Reply

