Eating Well

Despite the exceptionally cold weather we’ve been having our gardens are still producing, albeit grudgingly.  We have brussels sprouts, broccoli, cauliflower, collard greens, 4 kinds of kale, turnips, turnip greens, mustard greens, cabbage, chinese cabbage, senposai, Yukina savoy, spinach, bok choy, arugula, chard and even a little lettuce.  The lettuce is growing in my improvised cold frames (old windows laid over the raised beds), but the rest is growing outside. We don’t have a high tunnel or any row covers.  That’s a benefit of being in Zone 7.

I don’t know how much longer things will last though.  Just when I’d adjusted to the idea that cold winters here were a thing of the past, this crazy one comes along.  But of course it’s just getting started.  Maybe it will warm back up.  Maybe not.

Even if the gardens give up the ghost for the winter (and I’m not expecting that), we’re well-provisioned with food from the farm.  We have pork, vension, fish, chicken and summer veggies in the freezer.  We have potatoes, sweet potatoes, onions and garlic in the basement.  We have pea shoots, green onions and sunflower greens sprouting in the window sills.

Almost everything we eat now comes off this place.  This morning I had eggs and potatoes for breakfast.  Last night for supper I had broccoli salad, green beans, potatoes and fish.  All from this farm.

Cherie just asked me to bring in some things for her to cook: spinach, cabbage and broccoli. No problem, I answered. It feels good to be able to say that.

2 comments on “Eating Well

  1. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I’m not sure that I will ever get to a point that I could make entire meals from things that are not bought from the store. Each year I am expanding the food pantry with more stored food. About half of what is in the food storage room is from store sales. When things go on sale, I buy a substantial amount and store it away. The first rule of preservation is to find out what the family likes to eat. If the larder is full of food that no one will eat, it has become a worthless effort. So at this point in time I preserve some garden food for myself and give away the rest. Most family meals come from store bought stuff.

    Such has been my gardening experience all my family life. The garden was mine and mine alone. No help with any garden work and no help with eating garden food. Their loss, in my humble opinion. However, they did like my home made bread which they ravenously devoured as soon as it was cool enough to tear apart and latter on the butter. I really should hunt down that old bread recipe and let my grandson experience what bread is supposed to taste like.

    I’m actually glad to take a break from gardening over the Winter months. The land and I rest for about three to four months. Unfortunately, it’s just long enough to get out of shape, lazy, and pack on a few pounds. I’m going to put a little more effort into not having those things happen this year. I’m at the age where if you don’t use it, you lose it.

    Have a blessed day in the garden.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We still food from the grocery stores, but not much. Luckily my wife and I (we’re empty nesters) love food from the gardens and we’ve been able to edit out of our loves almost all the food that we can’t grow ourselves.

      It is hard to beat homemade bread. I can see how that would be a hit even with folks who don’t like food from the gardens.

      I agree with you about needing a break, but winter gardening is easy. There are no weeds or bugs to worry about. All you have to do is pick what you need. If only it was that easy the rest of the year. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

