Potatoes in the Basement

Our basement is our root cellar, among other things.  Because of all the potatoes, sweet potatoes, onions and garlic spread around the floor on tarps, it’s hard to navigate down there.  I love being able to go downstairs and come back up with potatoes we grew.  I just had some of them for breakfast.

When I was a little boy there was a building on my Grandpa’s farm that we called the “potato house.”  I well remember getting up potatoes and putting them there for storage.  I also remember my Granny sending me out with a basket to bring some in for cooking. Our basement serves as our potato house.

It’s important to let potatoes fully dry and cure for storage.  We spread ours out and use box fans to dry them for a couple of weeks.  After they’ve cured it’s best to put them in crates or mesh bags and keep them somewhere dark.  I haven’t done that with ours yet and some are starting to sprout as a result.

By early spring they’ll still be edible, even if starting to get a little spongy.  Potatoes have kept homesteaders fed through winter for a long time.  It’s important to save enough of them for planting in the spring. Seed potatoes are something you should only buy once.

