A New Season

The rhythm of life on the farm changes with the seasons. Now the days are shorter and colder.  We’re beginning to put the gardens to bed for the winter.  In those that are still producing food, we don’t have to worry much about weeds and pests. Things are slowing down.  Nature is calling for a time of rest.

But even as some tasks become less urgent or unnecessary, others rise in importance. Our woodshed, neglected by me during the busyness of summer, now stands empty. So every day I have to go cut the wood for that day’s heat.  That’s not a sensible system.  A few days devoted to cutting wood are in order.

It’s also time to bushhog the hayfields, laying them to rest until spring.  That project will take several days to finish and it has not yet begun.

Deer season has arrived.  Now is the time to stock our freezer with the only red meat I eat.  And this year we are going to start making our own venison dog food for Ginny.  So it’s time to add hunting to my to-do list.

Once the woodshed and freezer are full, and the fields are mowed, for a while we won’t have much to do other than keeping the fire going and keeping the animals fed. That’s when we’ll bring out the seed catalogues and prepare to start all over again.

It’s a beautiful and natural rhythm.

13 comments on “A New Season

  1. Bob Braxton says:

    any sausages from the deer meat?

    Like

  2. Jeff says:

    I looked up the deer season on the Department of Game site and wondered why you don’t have an archery or a muzzle-loader season. Good luck with the hunting – are they plentiful this year? I know they were in your garden, but come hunting season, they tend to get scarce. Do you have black locust on your property? Great firewood. I assume you have a log-splitter – the frontiersman method gets old real quick!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We do have archery and muzzle-loader seasons. I don’t bother with those however. I don’t really enjoy hunting so I just want to get it done as quickly as possible. We are overrun with deer this year. There were four in my backyard this morning. And because of the crazy weather we had there are no acorns this year. I’m afraid a lot of wildlife is going to starve this winter.

      We use an outdoor boiler so fortunately I don’t have to split wood. I had my fill of that as a kid. We do have black locust but I just cut up whatever has fallen down. A huge red oak is next up on my list.

      Like

  3. It is such a beautiful rhythm, isn’t it? This will be our third winter on our homestead and I’m getting used to the changing seasons and what that means for the homestead. I just have a hard time adjusting to the lack of daylight! 🙂

    Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    For some of my gardening friends, looking at the seed catalogues in winter seems very much like my looking at the Sears catalogue as a child. Wish-books, both – starting points for dreams as much as for plans.

    It’s sea-fog season now, and nothing about the weather is predictable. There can be a blue sky above, and near-zero visibilty at water level. You can see all the painters and varnishers and fiberglass artists sniffing the air like animals, trying to get a sense of when the fog will come. It stays light until about 5, then night falls fast.

    I rearranged and dusted my bookshelves last weekend, getting ready for those long nights. 😉

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I love going through the seed catalogues, but I seem to always order too much seed. It all looks so good. I’m hoping to bring some discipline to the process this year.

      Long nights with a book sound pretty good to me. 🙂

      Like

  5. chrisstov says:

    It sounds like a very idylic way of life.

    Like

  6. bobbushell says:

    The rhythm of life is there, but, I don’t believe in killing the Deer. Sorry.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I respect and admire vegetarians. I don’t eat much meat but whatever I eat comes from this farm, so I know how the animals lived and were treated. I’ve concluded that eating deer is much better than eating beef. I only take what we need.

      Like

Leave a Reply

