A Day Away

We’ve just returned from a quick trip down to Orlando for a banquet in celebration of the 15th anniversary of Danita’s Children.  Danita and the missionaries who serve with her are inspirational heroes.  Fifteen years ago she answered a call to rescue and love orphans in Ouanaminthe, Haiti.  She had no money, no supporters, no experience and didn’t speak Creole.  Now she operates a pediatric medical facility, a school, a feeding program, a child rescue program, an orphanage and a church.  It is one of the most amazing stories I’ve ever known and it is a great blessing for us to be a small part of such a wonderful group of people.  I well know how many deserving charities there are out there, but for anyone looking for a way to help make the world a better place, sponsoring a child at Danita’s Children is a great way to do it.

As much as we loved being able to see our friends again, it is good to be home.  After many years of flying at least twice a week, I hadn’t been on an airplane in 2 1/2 years. I certainly don’t miss that part of my old life.  This morning we ate breakfast at the hotel.  The food was horrible, of course.  And as I looked around I saw lots of men eating their crappy breakfasts, alone, looking like they hadn’t slept well and looking generally unhappy.  That was me for a long time.  May it never be me again.

6 comments on “A Day Away

  1. Jeff says:

    My condolences! Orlando and hotel food? Yikes! And TSA? May future banquets be held in more hospitable locations.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      If required to ride an airplane again, I can think of plenty of places I rather go than Orlando. But the U.S. office is there. The event was at a hotel at the airport to make it easy for folks (like us) who had to fly in.

      As for the TSA…. Don’t even get me started.

      Like

  2. Bob Braxton says:

    place of my 1944 birth – for the months my parents and I, then my baby brother (when I was still a baby) – we used to eat (sweet) grapefruit off the tree(s)

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    I’m so glad to be reminded of Danita again. You’re right that the story is remarkable – not to say miraculous – and a sign of hope in a world often afflicted with terrible tragedy.

    I just tweeted Matt and Jojang a wonderful photo of a full rainbow over Tacloban. I suppose we take our signs of hope where we can find them.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I like to think those hopeful signs are all around us, even if as a society we don’t consider them newsworthy. Danita has remarkable vision. She doesn’t seem to spend time pondering failure and she certainly doesn’t expect it. Haiti may be the most difficult place on earth to get good things accomplished, yet (in spite of the odds) she keeps getting them done. I would never have undertaken some of the projects she’s done over the last few years. It’s really inspirational.

      Like

Leave a Reply

