A Day Away

We’ve just returned from a quick trip down to Orlando for a banquet in celebration of the 15th anniversary of Danita’s Children.  Danita and the missionaries who serve with her are inspirational heroes.  Fifteen years ago she answered a call to rescue and love orphans in Ouanaminthe, Haiti.  She had no money, no supporters, no experience and didn’t speak Creole.  Now she operates a pediatric medical facility, a school, a feeding program, a child rescue program, an orphanage and a church.  It is one of the most amazing stories I’ve ever known and it is a great blessing for us to be a small part of such a wonderful group of people.  I well know how many deserving charities there are out there, but for anyone looking for a way to help make the world a better place, sponsoring a child at Danita’s Children is a great way to do it.

As much as we loved being able to see our friends again, it is good to be home.  After many years of flying at least twice a week, I hadn’t been on an airplane in 2 1/2 years. I certainly don’t miss that part of my old life.  This morning we ate breakfast at the hotel.  The food was horrible, of course.  And as I looked around I saw lots of men eating their crappy breakfasts, alone, looking like they hadn’t slept well and looking generally unhappy.  That was me for a long time.  May it never be me again.

