Coup D’etat

We’ve had an unexpected change in command in the chicken flock.  As of a few days ago, Elvis is king.

A triumphant Elvis

A triumphant Elvis

Some of y’all may remember the story of Dee Dee’s victory over Elvis, in the days that followed Elvis’ introduction to the farm.  I was convinced that Elvis wasn’t going to survive, even though I could find no serious external wounds.  Later, after he recovered and returned to the flock yielding authority to Dee Dee, I came to believe that Elvis had just been suffering from shame and disappointment.  It was a sad thing to behold.

A few days ago I noticed that both Dee Dee and Elvis looked a little beat up.  I hadn’t seen them fighting, but it was obvious that they had been.  And much to my surprise, it was Elvis who was strutting around in triumph and Dee Dee who was keeping his distance, with head hung.

Dee Dee hiding in the briers

Dee Dee hiding in the briers

I’m really surprised that Elvis decided to have another go at Dee Dee. Elvis is a big healthy bird, but he has the handsome feathered legs of a cochin, and doesn’t have nasty spurs like Dee Dee, a chocolate maran.  Nevertheless, Elvis has vanquished his old foe, at least for now.  As I once felt sorry for Elvis, I now kind of pity Dee Dee.

Meanwhile, our young rooster waits in the wings, perhaps biding his time.

Elvis' future challenger?

Elvis’ future challenger?

Love Wins

6 comments on “Coup D’etat

  1. shoreacres says:

    Your post brought to mind that old saying – “Ain’t nobody here but us chickens”. There are plenty of humans either strutting around or biding their time, depending.

    Did you happen to see the Paul Harvey commercial on the Super Bowl broadcast last night? I didn’t watch the game myself, but I happened to stop by Twitter and saw Paul Harvey was trending. Paul Harvey? I rarely retweet, but the commercial was marvelous – and so were peoples’ responses.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      When I came in from the barn last night my facebook page was lit up with posts and messages about that commercial. Several people sent it to me saying it reminded them of me. When I watched it, it reminded me of my Grandpa.

      Like

  2. Yes, I agree with Linda, although I didn’t really watch the game, I saw mention of this ad and so went online to watch. It’s selling Ram trucks, but at least it’s getting the idea out there, that farming is an honorable tradition and still a good choice in life.

    As far as the roosters go, I found this most amusing. Love your title.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Teresa. Quite an unexpected turn of events in the hen house.

      We don’t have TV service here, so we couldn’t watch the game if we wanted to. But several folks sent me the commercial, along with kind words. As I said to Linda, it makes me think of my Grandpa.

      I saw the messages when I came in from the barn, after bottle-feeding two kids. It was freezing cold out there and a blanket of stars was stretched out across the dark moonless sky. The whole time I was out there I was filled with gratitude for being able to live this life.

      Like

  3. […] But I later learned that Elvis had only been biding his time.  Surprising me a second time, Elvis emerged victorious in a swift but decisive rematch, and took his place as the king of our flock.  (Story told HERE). […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

