Farmitarianism can be inconvenient.

When away from home, my farmitarianism renders me a de facto vegetarian.  As a farmitarian (a term I borrowed, then redefined), I don’t eat the flesh of any animal I didn’t raise or hunt, and kill personally.  So I don’t eat meat in restaurants.

Sometimes I have the option of eating animals that I know were raised and slaughtered humanely, just as we do on our farm.  But I still decline.  Because my farmitarianism isn’t just about avoiding complicity in the industrial food complex’s cruel, unnatural and unhealthy treatment and processing of animals.  It is also about maintaining a true connection between the life of the eater and the sacrificed life of the eaten. 

So I had to pass on what looked like some delicious food options during our week in Kentucky.  At Foxhollow Farm, for example, which follows many of the same practices we use on White Flint Farm, Cherie and I had to turn down the quiche and soup they offered us, because there was meat in them.  The folks there were kind enough to make us tomato sandwiches, using their delicious organic heirloom tomatoes, so we didn’t suffer.  But still, I hated asking them to do that.

Still, as a matter of principle I plan to continue being a farmitarian and I plan to continue being an advocate for raising one’s own food.   And for those who want to consume meat, I continue to insist that you should consider whether you’d eat it if you had to raise the animal and kill it with your own hands.  If not, then I respectfully suggest you are naturally a vegetarian.

Love Wins

