Breakfast

Recently I was having a big breakfast.  Farm fresh eggs, fried potatoes from the garden, sausage made from pigs we raised, and a slice of homemade bread.

While enjoying this feast, I began to wonder if eating it made me a hypocrite.  After all, I preach against overconsumption and particularly overeating.  Yet there I was, eating what seemed like an enormous breakfast.

Then I reflected on that.  I was having breakfast at about 9:30 a.m.  By the time I sat down to my breakfast I’d already worked outside for 3 1/2 hours.  And once I’d finished eating, my physical labor resumed. 

That meal wasn’t going to make me fat.  But without strenous physical activity to burn the calories, it would.

Notwithstanding the piles of money we Americans spend on “diet” books, programs, drugs, etc., for the vast majority of us there is nothing complicated about avoiding obesity.  If we consume more calories than we burn, then we’ll get fat.  If we don’t, we won’t.

Want to eat a big breakfast and not get fat?  Then get outside and get some exercise. 

And if that isn’t possible (or for those unwilling to do it), then compensate by eating less.

Love Wins

