Birdsongs

I enjoy listening to music on my ipod sometimes when I’m outside, but not much and not for long. Most of the time lately I’ve been letting the birds provide the music.

They’re happy to oblige.

If I want lyrics, I have to provide them.

When I went out to do chores this morning before leaving for the market, the sky was just beginning to brighten with dawn.  The full moon was hanging low in the western sky, shining brightly, while in the east the morning star held on defiantly.  And the air was filled with a symphony of birdsongs, punctuated by a mourning dove and rooster crows.

It rang like jazz and like Motown.

 

8 comments on “Birdsongs

  1. It rang like jazz and like Motown.
    Nicely played!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      When I first posted this it ended after the 4th sentence. I came in from chores and edited it, dashing off the rest of it before leaving for market. To me it sounded like Marvin Gaye and John Coltrane.

      Like

  2. Let’s see: bird songs or IPod… no contest here. We’ve been waking up to robins proclaiming the break of day. :) Curt

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    I went berry-picking again last night and marveled at the cacophony. Our birds are lovely, here at the water, but they aren’t song birds. It’s been some time since I’ve heard red-winged blackbirds, cardinals, chickadees and mysterious others providing such background music. I can’t imagine every having the chance to move to the country, but the birds are one reason I would.

    Like

  4. Beautifully written, Bill. I once had to have music on most of the time … now, I prefer more of the natural sounds … yes, birdsong. Love the jazz and Motown … :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

