New Digs for the New Pigs

After a few days in a barn stall the new pigs have become reasonably accustomed to me.  So on Tuesday evening they graduated to the run in shed in the pasture.

In their first home here--a barn stall.

In their first home here–a barn stall.

A video of me trying to catch the slippery little rascals, and the banshee-like squealing that followed each successful grab, would be wildly entertaining I think.  But, alas, you’ll just have to use your imaginations to conjure up that scene.  Be sure to include mental images of me falling down a few times while trying to snag them as they raced by.

Nothwithstanding their reluctance to be put inside a dog crate for the trip outside (I tried to explain the situation to them, but they were unconvinced), once they were released in their new quarters they were as happy as pigs in…  Well, as happy as pigs in all the things pigs are happy in.

Cherie named this one Gracie.

Cherie named this one Gracie.

Yesterday morning when I went to check on them, a couple of them had already tunneled out and were wandering around the pasture, a day or two ahead of my plan.  My attempt to herd them back into the shed spooked the other 3, so they bolted too.  But with a little luck and some skillful manuevering (and a bucket of feed, which deserves most of the credit) I was able to get them all back into the shed.  I spent the next hour nailing woven wire fencing along the bottom of the stall to prevent any further breakouts, all the while wondering why, given that today I plan to open the gate and release them onto the six acres that will be their home for the next 4 or 5 months.

IMG_2401

So all in all I’d say that went pretty good.

We’re glad to have them here.

 

20 comments on “New Digs for the New Pigs

  1. shoreacres says:

    Those ears make me laugh. The vision of you trying to catch them makes me laugh, too. It also brought to mind the Piggly-Wiggly stores. I wondered how the chain got its name, and made a run past their website, where I learned:

    “Saunders’ [the founder's] reason for choosing the intriguing name “Piggly Wiggly®” remains a mystery; he was curiously reluctant to explain its origin. One story says that, while riding a train, he looked out his window and saw several little pigs struggling to get under a fence, which prompted him to think of the rhyme.”

    • Bill says:

      I thought Piggly-Wiggly was local to this area. Didn’t know they had them in Texas too.

      It’s a silly name, of course. I smile as I think of the sound of elderly ladies with Southern accents saying “Piggly-Wiggly” (with the soft “i” sound on the end of the words).

  2. valbjerke says:

    Yep – a bucket of feed and a lot of patience – usually gets results 😄

    • Bill says:

      It’s been a lot harder to tame 5 than just 2. If one gets skittish and runs, it spooks the others and they all run too. Then they settle down and start creeping back over. The feed bucket definitely helps. :)

  3. Oh, they’re so adorable, especially Gracie!
    Your gravatar is coming in handy for picturing the scene. :-)

    • Bill says:

      The other 4 are all red, but Gracie has a little white on her (showing her Berkshire heritage).
      The scene would have been funnier had I been wearing a suit. Cherie thinks we should do a photo of us based on that picture. We’ll see if it happens, but I know it would be funny. If we ever do it I’ll have to make it my new gravatar.

  4. Pig catching, much more fun as a spectator sport…they look great, and all that energy is just a good thing, right? I’m interested in your feed – did you grind it yourself? Or does it come that way from the feed mill? MIne is commercial crumble, looks and smells a lot like layer crumble if you ask me, though I understand the proportions of different nutrients are quite different. Yours looks like corn, oats….?

    • Bill says:

      We get our feed from Sunrise Farms in Stuarts Draft, Va. It’s GMO-free and soy-free. The principal ingredients are corn, peas. oats and fishmeal.
      Today they also got watermelon, cataloupe and collard greens. :)

  5. Dee Ready says:

    Dear Bill, the piglets are darling and they remember me of the Pooh stories. But I have a slight fear of pigs that comes from my childhood when one of the sows nearly nipped off one of my fingers. Still . . . Piglet in Pooh is endearing! Peace.

    • Bill says:

      You’ve reminded me of a sweet memory. When I was living my crazy life and travelling a lot, I’d sometimes bring my children gifts when I came home from being away a long time. Once I brought my daughter a little stuffed Piglet. She was very young at the time and she loved that Piglet. It was her favorite stuffed animal. I’m happy and sad at the same time as I think of that story. :)

      • Dee Ready says:

        Dear Bill, I can see now in reading my comment to your posting that I need to proofread before hitting “Enter.” I meant to say that the pigs reminded me of Piglet–not that they remembered me!!!

        And yes, isn’t life poignant. A moment can hold both happiness and sadness. A beginning and an end. Peace.

  6. I’m taking lots of notes between you and sailors small farm for when we get to the farm full time and start getting piggy with it. Note 1 – always have a video camera standing at the ready…

  7. “So all in all I’d say that went pretty good.” still chuckling … love that little Gracie … Oh how I wish for video … :)

  8. I suspect, Bill, there is a good reason for the old statement, “harder to catch than a greased pig.” Somewhere in my mind, I remember that as an activity at county fairs. :) –Curt

    • Bill says:

      Cherie joked that she should grease up the pigs to make them more difficult to catch. I asked her whether there would be any point in making it more difficult, considering how much trouble I was having catching them ungreased. I’m not as nimble as I once was. :)

Leave a Reply

