Top 10 Posts of 2013

For the last several years I’ve taken a look back at the year and listed the posts that were viewed the most.  I’ve always found the results to be interesting and this year is no exception.

This doesn’t include views that came in through the home page, but only those who went directly to the post.  I suppose that means the list is biased in favor of posts found on search engines.  Regardless, here’s the top 10 most viewed posts of 2013.

1o (tie).  Selling Water By the River.  My review of Shane Hipps’ book, from September, 2012.  This is the only repeat from last year’s list.  My guess is that the publisher uses a bot to find reviews and that accounts for all the hits.

10 (tie).  Consumerism: Disease or Religion?  In July, 2011 I copied and shared this post from Lucas Land’s excellent blog  in which he shared some of his thoughts on the book Affluenza. It’s a great read.

9. Missional Implications of Paul’s Speech at Mars Hill.  Four of the top 10 this year are theology-related.  That’s unusual.  Last year there was only one and I believe that is the only one that’s ever made the list.  This is a paper I wrote for a class and posted here in December, 2011.  After analyzing the text, I recast the event described in Chapter 17 of Acts, setting it a contemporary farmers market.  The reception it got from my professor was lukewarm.  About a month ago I got an email from someone in Maui who had discovered our farm through this post (he was doing research on Paul’s speech).  Turns out he recently bought a farm not far from here and is planning to move here soon and take up sustainable farming. Interesting that we’d connect through a post like this one.

8. The Mad Farmer Liberation Front.  Mr. Berry’s wonderful poem, from which I took the name of this blog.  This poem changed my life.  I posted it in February, 2009.  It is linked on my “About” page, which may account for a lot of the hits.

7. Oceania Has NOT Always Been at War with Eurasia.  It seems likely to me that most of the views this one got were from people searching for the Orwell passage, rather than folks who wanted my take on a particular form of political hypocrisy.  I also posted this one in February, 2009, ten days after the Mad Farmer Liberation Front post.

6. The Organic Egg Scam.  This is the only post in this year’s top 10 that relates to sustainable farming, despite the fact that sustainable farming is supposed to be the focus of this blog.  I posted this in January, 2013.  It’s one of only two posts on this year’s list that were actually posted this year.

5. Mud.  So why DID Jesus rub mud in that man’s eyes? From July, 2009.

4. Natural Order and Natural Evil.  This one from December, 2009, in which I wrestle with the Problem of Evil, got so many views this year that I felt the need to write a Disclaimer.

3. Post-Goose. My reflections on this year’s Wild Goose Festival, from August, 2013.

2. Everlasting God.  Once we tired of debating how many angels can dance on the head of a pin, we took up things like whether God is eternal or everlasting. From March, 2011.

And the surprise winner is…

1. The Trestle.  A Raymond Carver poem that I just lifted from Teresa Evangeline’s blog in April, 2012.  For some reason it drew a lot of traffic this year, more than any other post.  I have no idea why, but it is a great poem.

Wishing everyone a very Happy New Year!

May 2014 be filled with peace, joy, love and plenty of great blogs.

5 comments on “Top 10 Posts of 2013

  1. I’m happy to see the Carver poem is your top blog. It’s such a beautiful poem.

    Like

  2. df says:

    I think I have some catching up to do on your blog, given that I’ve only discovered it more recently, and this list is a fun way to start! I know that I get traffic on some very strange items on my blog; THE most popular post on my blog from the last year was a post written in desperation about a lice infestation we were plagued by when my youngest was still in the public school system! :) Looking forward to reading more on your blog in 2014!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks and glad you’re visiting. I wouldn’t say these posts are representative of typical posts here. In fact some of these are among the most atypical things I’ve posted. I have a “View Random Post” button in my toolbar but I’ve never been able to figure out how to add it to the menu for everyone else. Oh well. I’m looking forward to enjoying your blog in 2014 as well. I finished my first book of 2014 last night and started a list so I’ll be able to recall them all at the end of the year. Should make for an interesting blog post.
      Happy New Year!

      Like

Leave a Reply

