Joey’s Hay

Jesus said:  Woe to the Pharisees.  Like a dog dozing in a food trough for cattle, they neither eat nor do they let the cattle eat.
Gospel of Thomas, Saying 102.

Reading this recently, I had to chuckle.  Evidently this kind of thing has been going on a long time.

SAMSUNG

It’s been almost a year since our Great Pyrenees guard dog Joey died.  We still miss his big goofy slobbering self.

Often when I’d put out a bale of hay for the goats Joey would come over, sniff around it, then climb on it to nap.  I suppose he just assumed the hay was intended for his comfort.

SAMSUNG

I used to get a little annoyed at him for doing that.  But now I wish I could look outside and see him sleeping on the goats’ hay.

10 comments on “Joey’s Hay

  1. Oh dogs!

    Our GIANT OAF, Charlie, just turned one at the beginning of this month. We reckon it’s another year before he stops tripping us and stepping on us and thwarting us at every turn simply with his oversized mass.

    Dave looked at him yesterday as he was wedged between me and the wall as I was trying to work, shook his head and said, “Dogs are the worst–and the best.”

    • Bill says:

      Joey did a great job of keeping his goat friends safe. But he had a special knack for getting in the way when I was trying to get things done in the pasture. I can recall many times trimming hooves when he’d just stand there with his nose mere millimeters from my face as I worked. If I tried to push him away I’d lose my grip on the goat and he’d be back in my face moments later in any event. I learned to just expect his big slobbery head to be there as I worked. I imagine it would have been quite a sight for someone watching me.

      By the way, I haven’t forgotten that I owe a post about blogs. Still thinking about it…

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, it is unexplainable how many of those annoying things in the past become sweet memories when those that did them are gone. Pets, in my humble opinion, just don’t live long enough. Over the course of my journey through life, my family has had numerous pets ranging from the standard dogs and cats to the not so standard of hamsters and fish. Now the house is clear of animals and will stay that way. It’s not that I’m against pets but after so many that have come and gone with me being the one to have to deal with having them euthanized because of old age and suffering conditions, I just don’t want to go through that again.

    Sorry about your loss and hope that you continue to have great memories the pets of the past.

    • Bill says:

      We haven’t replaced Joey. Intellectually I know we need a guard dog, but emotionally we just don’t want to go through the puppy stage again.

      Euthanizing animals is probably the single worst thing I have to do here. I’ve put down several kids over the last week and it really sucks. I was afraid I’d have to do that with Joey, but he wasn’t sick long. He went peacefully and quietly, among his friends.

  3. ladyfi says:

    Awww – sorry for your loss, but what a sweet memory.

  4. shoreacres says:

    So good to see Joey again. It’s like getting out the family album at Christmas time and remembering those who aren’t still here to celebrate.

    The quotation reminds me of my fable-telling grandmother, who plays prominently in the entry I’m working on now. Apparently she loved Aesop, and hardly a day went by that I didn’t hear one or another of his fables, including the dog in the manger.

    • Bill says:

      Now I’ve discovered there is a long tradition of “dog in the manger” stories. Wiki has an entire entry devoted to them.

      Obviously Joey did not invent the idea. :)

  5. This is such a poignant post. I recall when Joey passed .. such a sweet slobbering soul .. :) It’s good to remember him there among his friends …

  6. Awww, Joey was so handsome. I really have a soft spot in my heart for guard dogs. Ours is a great pyrenees and sheepdog mix, so she has really curly, long fur. So sorry for your loss :(

Leave a Reply

