Taking off my shoes

This cloud caught my attention yesterday afternoon.  How much beauty do we overlook in our hurried lives?  Even though I see only a tiny fraction of what’s there before me, the little I see is enough to keep me constantly amazed.

It reminds me of something from Elizabeth Barrett Browing.  I’ve posted it on here before, but it is worth repeating: 

Earth’s crammed with heaven,
And every common bush afire with God
But only he who sees, takes off his shoes,
The rest sit round it, and pluck blackberries…

Sometimes some of that heaven crammed into earth is subtle.  Other times, it’s impossible to miss.  I was delighted to find this beneath one of the sitting hens this morning.

Then I walked to the back pasture to find my friends there waiting to greet me.

Early chores done, I come back to the house to have a little breakfast before going to tie tomatoes.  When I get to the garden, I’m going to take off my shoes.

Love Wins

2 comments on “Taking off my shoes

  1. I love walking barefoot on the earth. I do so every possible morning and evening on the lawn and amongst the flower beds, but now I’m going to do so in the veggie garden, too. I’ve always like the line, “Earth’s crammed with heaven…” Yep, it’s a beautiful old world.

    Happy Father’s Day, Bill!

    Like

  2. Ann says:

    Sounds like a great plan for a great Father’s Day…hope the earth between your toes gave you strength!

    Like

Leave a Reply

