Deer food

When I planted broccoli in the main garden I ended up with a few extra plants.  So I planted them in raised beds by our house, figuring  they would mature before it was time to plant sweet potatoes.  They weren’t protected by a deer fence, but being right in our back yard, I hoped the deer would  leave them alone.

I was wrong.

Here’s what I discovered this morning:

At least they left the best part of this one:

So as I type this I’ve just come in from putting a tarp over the raised beds, in the dark during a thunderstorm, in the hopes of holding off the deer a bit longer.

We have a lot of competition for the food we grow here.  But sometimes it goes both ways.  I’ve been eating a lot of venison the last few days.

Love Wins

Leave a Reply

